List of Borland Medal Award Winners and Runners-up

The following extract is taken from Townhead Primary School Log Book 6th June 1924. "I have received word from the Authority that a Gold Medal (from money left by the late Dr. Borland, Yarrow) is to be awarded to the Dux Scholar." Mr. A. McIntosh, Headmaster.

Borland Gold Medal Winners & Runners Up

Date	Winner	Prize	Runner Up	Prize
June 1924	Robert Mitchell	Gold Medal	Jessie Bambrick	Books
June 1925	Elizabeth Stewart	Gold Medal		
June 1925	William Kirkland	Gold Medal		
June 1926	John Black	Gold Medal		
June 1927	John Gilmour	Gold Medal		
June 1927	Elizabeth Plenderleith	Gold Medal		
June 1928	William Plenderleith	Gold Medal		
Dec 1928	Solomon McNiven	Gold Medal	Chrissie Wardrope	Books
June 1928	Grace Kirkland	Gold Medal		
June 1929	James Curr	Gold Medal	Elizabeth Smith	
Dec 1929	Thomas Sorbie	Gold Medal	George Murdoch	
June 1930	Hugh Dewar Burns	Gold Medal		
	Torrance			
Dec 1930	Janet Steele	Gold Medal	Kathleen McLaughan	& George Leggate
June 1931	May Watts	Gold Medal	James Ross	
Dec 1931	George Park	Gold Medal	William Drinnan	
June 1932	John Crawford	Gold Medal	William Cranston	
	Thomson Jackson			
Dec 1932	William Moffat Gracie	Gold Medal	Sadie Bums	Books
June 1933	George M. Smith	Gold Medal	Alex. McIntosh Legga	te
Dec 1933	Adam Hamilton	Gold Medal	Alex.Roy	
June 1934	Betty Drinnan	Gold Medal	David Sorbie	
Dec 1934	William Kane	Gold Medal	William Dick	
June 1935	May Thomson	Gold Medal	Jean Millar	
Dec 1935	Alexander Caldwell	Gold Medal	William Burns	
	Anderson			
June 1936	Betty Hutchison	Gold Medal	JohnWatts	
Dec 1936	No Medal awarded due to the	price of gold		

The following extract is taken from Townhead Primary School Log Book 18th Dec. 1936. "I went to Lanarkshire House on Saturday morning to see Mr. Mair about the Borland Medal. The difficulty has arisen owing to the price of gold Ultimately, he asked me to go to Mr. Nicoll the depute County Treasurer, and after discussing the matter with him, it was agreed to present a watch as the Borland Prize at this time."

June 1937	Alexander Hamilton	Watch	Minnie Sorbie
Dec 1937	Thomas Todd	Prize	
June 1938	David Chalmers	Prize	Mary Hamilton
June 1939	Donald Chalmers	Gold Medal	Helen McInnes
June 1940	Mary Paton	Gold Medal	
June 1941	Agnes Haddow	Gold Medal	
June 1942	Margaret Watt	Gold Medal	Jean Roy
June 1943	Thomas Sorbie	Gold Medal	Agnes Dick
June 1944	James Barrie	Gold Medal	

The following extract is taken from Townhead Primary School Log Book June 1945. "Intimation has been made by the Education Committee that it has been impossible to procure a Gold Medal for the Dux pupil, and suggesting that War Savings Certificates might be a suitable substitute."

June 1945	JohnHughes	Sav's Cert	John Smith
June 1946	JohnHughes	Sav's Coo	Minnie Twaddle
June 1947	AnnieMackie	Borland Dux	
June 1948	AnnieMackie	Borland Prize	
June 1949	RobertHutchison	Borland Medal	
June 1950	GeorgeSimmons	Borland Dux	
1951-1958	No Names in Log Boo	ok	

The following extract is taken from Townhead Primary School Log Book June 1960. "This year was decided to revive the Borland Medal. This medal will be presented annually to the pupil who is best all round-attendance, appearance, work, interest in all aspects of school work, sport."

June 1960	Elizabeth Dowling	Borland Medal	
June 1961	Maybeth Drinnan	Dux	Shiela Alexander (Pears Encyclopaedia)
June 1962	David Duncan	Borland Medal	
June 1963	Stanley Calderwood	Borland Medal	
June 1964	George Smith	Borland Medal	
June 1965	lain Campbell	Borland Medal	
June 1966	Archie Steele	Borland Medal	
June 1967	Isobel Steele	Borland Medal	
1968-1980	No Names		

The following extract from Townhead Primary School Log Book June 1981. "This year it was decided to revive the Borland Medal. This medal will be presented annually to the pupil who is best all round attendance, appearance, work, interest in all aspects of school work, sport."

1981	Pauline Smith	
1982	Steven Johnstone	Borland Medal
1983	KayHamilton	Borland Medal
1984	Ann Law	Borland Medal
1985-1992	No Names in Log Bo	ook

The following extract is taken from Townhead Primary School Log Book June 1993. "Borland Prize for Endeavour introduced by Mrs S.McKenzie, Head Teacher."

1993	Lynn Bryson	Borland Prize for Endeavour
1994	Martin McAulay	Borland Prize for Endeavour
1995	Kirsty Wilson	Borland Prize for Endeavour
1996	Lorna Reid	Borland Prize for Endeavour